CosMedicList logo Your one stop shop for cosmetic enhancement

The Dermatology Foundation

dermatology foundation logo cosmediclist

Company Bio

The Dermatology Foundation Mission

Celebrating 50 Years of Commitment to the Health and Vitality of Dermatology

The Dermatology Foundation is a non-profit 501(c)3, charitable organization. Its mission is to provide research support that helps develop and retain tomorrow’s teachers and researchers in dermatology, enabling advancements in patient care.The DF is grateful to its many member physicians, specialty societies, and corporate supporters for their generous contributions over the past 50 years. Their support has helped to advance dermatologic care and ensure the development of tomorrow’s thought leaders.

The Dermatology Foundation remains fully committed to furthering the specialty of dermatology by offering a variety of funding mechanisms through its Research Awards Program. The annual DF award offering has 16 funding categories supporting all aspects of dermatology.The Dermatology Foundation Board of Trustees announced at its 2014 annual meeting that 69 promising new physician scientists and investigators were selected to receive $3.5 million in DF research funding this year.

The Dermatology Foundation’s research awards have helped to launch the careers of numerous investigators, educators and leaders in dermatology. The DF recently surveyed its career development award (CDA) recipients to assess the effectiveness of its funding program. The results underscore the critical role Foundation support has in moving the specialty forward.

  • 80% of our awardees have remained in academics
  • 86% of these individuals received federal funding
  • Each $1 of CDA funding garnered $10 or more in NIH grant support

The Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology published the complete CDA survey findings online in March of 2012. The article highlights the significant effect DF funding has had on the specialty—a “major favorable impact on the academic workforce and supported numerous individuals who have advanced knowledge and patient care.” Read the full JAAD article.

Key Members:
Michael D. Tharp, M.D.
Bruce U. Wintroub, M.D.
Chairman, Board of Trustees
Stuart R. Lessin, M.D.
Vice President
Elizabeth I. McBurney, M.D.

You can find out more about The Dermatology Foundation on their website here.

Share This Company Profile

Contact Information

Michael D. Tharp, M.D.


1560 Sherman Avenue Suite 870 Evanston, IL 60201-4808